1. What do I need to bring to the class?
a. Handgun of choice (semi-automatic and revolver, if you have both)
Make sure (BEFORE you arrive) that your handgun is in good working condition!
The certificate we issue will certify you to carry both types of pistols.
b. 50 rounds of ammunition
c. Eye & ear protection (required)
d. Valid LOUISIANA driver's license or picture ID
e. Balance of Class Fee Due in CASH
2. What if I don't own a handgun?
You don't need to rush out to buy a handgun before taking the course. In fact we spend
time discussing pros and cons of different calibers and models. This information will help you
decide which handgun to buy for yourself. If you are attending with a friend, you can take
turns using the same handgun. We also have an assortment of pistols you can rent (call for details).
We are Federal Firearms Licensed Dealers and do have some popular concealed handguns in stock.
3. Are reservations required?
Yes, reservations are required. Due to limited seating arrangements, your reservation cannot be confirmed
until we receive your $25 deposit (some exceptions apply). Once paid, deposits are non-refundable, but
you can apply your deposit towards another class within 60 days.
4.Is my permit limited to the handgun that I qualify with?
No. Your permit is similar to a Driver's License in the sense that a driver's license allows you to
legally drive any car. In the same way your Concealed Permit allows you to legally carry any handgun,
concealed on your person.
5. What if it's raining on the day of the class?
The class will be held, rain or shine, except in extreme weather situations (i.e.where evacuations
are necessary). We do have cover at the range, but if the weather is too severe to complete the
Live-fire portion of the course we will re-schedule the Live-fire portion for another day.
6. How much does it cost to get a permit?
Currently, the Department of Public Safety & Corrections charges $125.00 for a 5 YEAR PERMIT.
If you have NOT resided in the state of Louisiana for the last 15 years an additional $50 is required. This is
paid directly to them in the form of a Money Order or Cashier Check. YOU HAVE 1 YEAR from the date you
take our course to use your CERTIFICATE in applying with Louisiana State Police. Discounted for Seniors & Military.
7. I'm a Active Military or a veteran. Do I need to take the course?
If your DD-214 indicates you have received "small arms" training within the past 60
months you don't have to take this course. However, you must realize that Military Laws
vary considerably from Civil Laws. We spend a great deal of time discussing Louisiana
Revised Statutes pertaining to Concealed Carry, Use of Deadly Force and other issues
not covered in your military training. Although you may not be required to take this course
as a Pre-requisite you will still be held accountable to the Civil Laws if you are ever involved
in any type of incident with your handgun. We strongly urge you to take this course.
If you received anything other than an "honorable discharge" you will likely not be approved
for a permit. For more information contact the LA State Police Handgun Permit Unit at
8. What if I have a Concealed Handgun Permit from another state?
There is no longer a 6 month waiting period before applying for a Louisiana Concealed Handgun Permit.
Once you become a resident of Louisiana, your Concealed Handgun Permit from the other state is
not accepted. Louisiana Residents may carry with a Louisiana Concealed Handgun Permit ONLY.
9. How old do you have to be to take the course?
Anyone can take the course but you must be at least 21 years old to apply for a Concealed Handgun Permit.
The material we teach is very helpful to anyone old enough to handle a handgun, but we require parents
to reserve a seat for themselves and attend with anyone under 18 years old.
10. What are the requirements to obtain a permit?
1. Take this class to obtain a certificate.
2. Go to http://lsp.org/handguns.html#apply
(If you don't know if you would pass a Criminal Background Check please call L.S.P. Concealed
Handgun Permit division at 225-925-4867, you may also call me should you have any questions).
We've been asked why our class takes 8 - 9 hours while others may teach the class in 3 or 4 hours?
The 9-hour course curriculum is mandated and approved by the LA Dept. of Public Safety & Corrections and the LA State Police Handgun Permit Unit. However, we do offer PRIVATE classes as well as small classes which may take less time to complete (generally, you are still looking at 7.5+ hours). It is impossible to cover ALL the material in less time and is dangerous. Additionally, it does a disservice to the community, to you and to other Concealed Handgun Permittees. The topics covered in our course deserve the time and the attention no matter your level of expertise. The decision to carry a concealed handgun should not be taken lightly. Take our course today and be armed with the most effective weapon of all: KNOWLEDGE.
CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT CLASSES